Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /home/sherid14/public_html/mellettecountynews.com/templates/gk_news/lib/menu/GKBase.class.php on line 114

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /home/sherid14/public_html/mellettecountynews.com/templates/gk_news/lib/menu/GKHandheld.php on line 76
Election candidates thus far

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/sherid14/public_html/mellettecountynews.com/templates/gk_news/html/com_content/article/default.php on line 13

Election candidates thus far

By Kristan Krogman

March 25 was the last day to file Primary Election nominating petitions. Partisan candidates are required to file by that date and are listed on the June 3 Primary Election ballot. Those running as an Independent can still file and are directly eligible for the General Election in November. The filing deadline for Independent candidates is April 29. 

The following are candidates who have thus far submitted their petitions.

Karen A. O’Brien has filed to extend her term as Register of Deeds.

Eva L. Iyotte is alone in filing for the District 3 County Commissioner seat. The seat is currently held by Cecil Brandis, Jr.

Four candidates will appear on the Primary Election ballot for the race for Mellette County Sheriff: Delta Emmett Anderson, Derris Dean Waukazoo, Jason L. Erwin, and Dennis L. Youngman. Mike Blom  is also in the running. He has filed as an Independent and will appear on the General Election ballot.

There were no partisan petitions turned in for the position of Mellette County Auditor, though current Auditor Jerry Schwarting has filed as an Independent and will be on the General Election ballot.

Troy E. Heinert is seeking re-election as District 26 State Senator. He will face John Koskan of Wood.

There will be a new Representative for District 26A as Larry Lucas’s term is up and he has moved out of the District. Candidates include Joshua Wilson and Shawn L. Bordeaux, both of Mission.

The race for South Dakota Governor includes three candidates up against incumbent Dennis M. Daugaard. They are Lora Hubbel, Susan Wismer, and Joe Lowe.

A new U.S. Senator will be elected to represent South Dakota as Sen. Tim Johnson has announced his retirement. Candidates include: Larry Pressler, Rick Weiland, Stace Nelson, Mike Rounds, Dr. Annette Bosworth, Jason Ravnsborg, and Larry Rhoden.

Rep. Kristi Noem’s two year term is coming to an end. She will face challenger Corinna Robinson.

Absentee voting for the June 3 Primary Election may begin in just a couple of weeks, on April 18.

The last day for new voters to register to vote and still be eligible to vote on June 3 is Monday, May 19.

 Box F, White River, SD 57579 • 605-259-3642 • mcnews@gwtc.net

Copyright © 2021 Mellette County News. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.