Jones County Tourney title, ninth in a row

By Kristan Krogman

A mainstay in the area for many years, the 46th annual Jones County Invitational boys basketball tournament played out over three days last week. The Tournament boasts a mighty tradition of talented players, rivalry competition, and an atmosphere that makes the tournament what it is. With packed crowds chanting “Let’s Go_____!” in encouragement meant to inspire their favorite player or team, rewards for the best fans, the best players, the best cheerleaders, and the best display of sportsmanship, the annual appearance by Senator John Thune, visitng with neighbors, and even the popularity of the  popcorn, there is a lot to go along with the basketball. 

As it has been for the past eight years, the dynasty of the White River Tigers remained and their ninth straight title was recorded. The mark is one that seems unbeatable when compared to the previous consecutive title streak of three  by Stanley Co. - 1988-’90, and Lyman - 2003-’05. The Tigers outscored their opponent 244-99 over the course of this year’s tournament and won by an average of 48.3 points. 

Game one saw the Tigers with a 93-22 win over Stanley County. White River held their opponent scoreless into period two and had too much fire power for the Buffaloes. The Tigers were led by KPLO Player of the Game Christian Bartlett who had 17 points and 13 rebounds off the bench. Justin Folkers received the Sportsmanship Award.

WR 26 43 73 93

  1. 0   9 15 22

Justin Prue 13 pts, 2 assists, 3 steals; Tre Iyotte 13 pts, 3 rebs, 8 assists, 6 steals; Link Tucker 6 pts, 8 rebs, 1 assist, 3 steals, 1 block; Tavis Burbank 12 pts, 6 rebs, 2 assists, 2 steals; Justin Folkers 16 pts, 7 rebs, 1 assist, 3 steals; Christian Bartlett 17 pts, 13 rebs; Justice Morrison 3 assists, 2 steals; Tanner Larvie 2 pts, 1 reb, 1 assist, 1 steal; Bill Chauncey 2 pts, 5 rebs, 1 steal, 1 block; Mat Beardt 2 pts, 3 rebs, 2 steals; Nicholas Young 2 pts

The semi-final game versus Colome came Friday night. Colome scored just six points in quarter one, the last two with only seconds remaining in the period. After eleven quick points in quarter two, the Tigers led 36-10. Colome turned up the heat, reeling off thirteen straight to end the period. It was 36-23 at halftime.

Guards Tre Iyotte and Justin Prue, who shot well throughout the Tournament, had a trio of three point baskets mid-way through the third in restoring a twenty point lead. The fourth quarter was all White River and the final score was 80-39. 

White River 25 36 56 80

  1.       6  23 35 39

Prue 17 pts, 2 rebs, 2 assists, 3 steals, 1 block; Iyotte 18 pts, 1 reb, 5 assists, 4 steals; Tucker 9 pts, 8 rebs, 3 assists, 1 steal, 1 block; Burbank 12 pts, 3 rebs, 4 assists, 5 steals; Folkers 9 pts, 9 rebs, 4 steals, 2 blocks; Bartlett 4 pts, 5 rebs; Morrison 3 pts; Larvie 2 pts, 1 assists, 2 steals; Gunner Piper 2 pts, 1 reb, 1 assist; Chauncey 4 pts, 5 rebs; Beardt 1 steal; Young 1 rebound

KPLO Player Of The Game was Tre Iyotte. The Sportsmanship Award went to  Tavis Burbank.

White River took the Jones County crowd out of the game early during Saturday night’s championship contest. The Tigers led 14-0 with only 3:15 gone by. Following a Jones County timeout, their second of the game, the competitiveness of the contest improved and it was 9-9 through the remainder of the period. Bartlett had five points in period two, Iyotte four, Tucker scored on a driving lay in and a steal and layup by Prue added to the score and brought a 20 point lead at halftime. 

Jones County hit a three to open the third quarter, cutting the lead to 17, the closest they would get in the second half. Iyotte scored for White River with three seconds to go in the period, tying their largest lead at 24. 

Another hustle play by Prue came at 4:49 to go in the fourth quarter when he tipped a Coyote pass on the sideline for a steal and took it to the rim for two. That gave the Tigers a thirty point lead, 60-30. The final basket of the night, a two by Tanner Larvie resulted in the largest lead of the evening for White River and stood as the final, 71-38.

White River   23 36 52 71

Jones County  9 16 28 38

Prue 17 pts, 1 rebs, 1 assist, 5 steals; Iyotte 16 pts, 5 rebs, 4 assists, 3 steals; Tucker 9 pts, 7 rebs, 4 assists, 4 steals, 2 blocks; Burbank 10 pts, 6 rebs, 1 assist, 2 steals; Folkers 8 pts, 10 rebs, 1 steal, 3 blocks; Bartlett 9 pts, 10 rebs; Larvie 2 pts, 2 rebs; Chauncey 1 steal; Piper 1 rebound

KPLO Player Of The Game was Justin Prue. Link Tucker won the Sportsmanship Award.


Justin Prue, Tavis Burbank, and Justin Folkers were named 1st Team All-Tourney. 

Tre Iyotte was named 2nd Team All-Tourney.

Justin Prue was voted Tournament MVP and Tavis Burbank won the Pete Kerns Sportsmanship Award.


Jones County cheerleaders repeated as winners of the Muriel Huber Memorial Cheer Award.

 Box F, White River, SD 57579 • 605-259-3642 •

Copyright © 2024 Mellette County News. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.